Unit 2

First of all, I am so sorry my title is garbage. I promise to do better next week.

I’ve been thinking really heavily (to the soundtrack of Sigur Rós, so you know it’s some intense thinking) about how these stories connect to me and my interests and each other, and it’s honestly really challenging to do so. How can I relate this reading to my life? Does it count that I really like vampires and the Vampire Hunter D movie was a pivotal point of my adolescence?

Story time: that movie was when I truly realized I could fall in love with an animated character. Just kidding, that was when I watched Sailor Moon at a much younger age.

But back to the point: how do I connect my life to the very general theme of mythology or the very specific few readings from this week and last?

Answer (I hope): we live by the mistakes Greek gods made every day. Everyone has an Achilles heel that holds them back, or just can’t keep it in their pants like Zeus. Maybe you’ve even been turned into a cow. A beautiful cow, but still. You probably say, “thank God,” or, “oh my God,” or “God damn,” when you feel it’s appropriate, even though you’re not actually religious, (because if you were, you wouldn’t take the Lord’s name in vain, as that is a sin). Maybe you base your life around the ideas of a crazy man and dance on a street corner attracting people to join your definitely-not-a-cult family.

My point is that these things are all myth. A myth, which is, going by the author of the Short Intro book, just a story. And all these stories, not unlike the stories told many moons back, are created and written or passed from generation to generation (I’d like to note the very successful-sounding song “Hoppípolla” which is playing as I type this, an obvious sign I’m on the right track) to scare, teach, or otherwise inform to what can happen. The Medicine Man invoked a freaking demon because he wasn’t getting what he wanted, and would do anything to get it; lesson. Doris was bitten by what is essentially King Vampire of her world because she ventured too far away from home too late in the day; lesson. The Bible is a huge book of story after story of what to do and not to do to be a good Christian/Catholic. But.. A lot of the hellbeasts described in these stories don’t exist, as far as we can tell. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good Ghost Adventures or A Haunting episode, but is a demon or ghost really what’s making everything in your life, for lack of a better phrase, go to hell? Probably not. It’s probably all psychological. You are your own worst enemy.

It’s for this same reason (psyching-out, that is) that I was sure I couldn’t “do college”; I was already older than everyone, I was home-schooled and didn’t even graduate from that, so I had never learned real, proper study habits, so how could I do well in college? My personal demons got to me, but no large shadow-y beast formation in the corner of the room. That’s Schizophrenia. Clearly, I got past that, with some help, and am doing well. Though that creature behind the mirror has some bs to say to me sometimes.

Shorter point being, the mythology we’ve been told and taught in passing effects the daily lives of everyone around. Vampires are the things that suck the life out of us, like work and school. Werewolves are the 180s people do sometimes when their true colors come out after certain things happen. Zombies are the dumb, dumb people who will never quite “get it”, but are constantly after approval (of your brain?). Gods make mistakes too. Oddly human ones, at that. Myths, legends, lore, and stories are everything and they connect to everything, whether you see it or not.

Final note: perfect song for reflection “Fjögur píanó” and also, the reading in this class is so good, my other homework is jealous.

Say some words...

